Okay, fine, I’ll admit it: I went and saw the “Sex and the City” movie. I really wanted to hold off and give all the whack-jobs a chance to lose interest so the viewing would be bearable, but what can I say? The heat of the last weekend drove me to the theater.

I was a viewer of the show-and I say viewer because I was never one of the fanatical-cosmo-swilling-raucous-crazies who just latched onto the show and could think of nothing better to do with their lives. If I saw it, I saw it, if there was a rugby game to go watch, then I’d just as soon be outside.

But I was always a viewer and I had always planned on seeing the movie in the theater because I believe Hollywood needs to understand that movies about 40 year-old-plus women can make money if you actually produce a movie women want to watch. This means NOT relegating women to just being the “Supportive Mom”, the “Girlfriend in Peril”, the “Gratuitous Slut” or the “Nutball Assassin”.

Which is why SATC disappointed me so much. But let me explain why:

1. To quote the movie: “Women move to New York for two reasons: L&L. Labels and love.” This my dear, is what I call a load of bullshit. Women move for a variety of reasons and not just because they are clothes whores or husband hunting and I was rather surprised and insulted that statement made it into the film.

2. The HIGHLY gratuitous nudity. As many people could attest to, I am not a prude, so imagine my surprise when even I reacted to the amount of flesh exposure with a big ole whopping “Whoa! Hey! Put that away!”

3. Ho.Le.Crap, was it just me or was that film long? Maybe it is because we’re all used to the half-hour format, but it really felt like a disjointed narrative that would have been better as an extra season.

4. Someone explain to me the purpose of the assistant. I love Jennifer Hudson, she rocked in “Dream Girls”, but this? Damn what a waste. The character could have never existed and I would have been completely fine with that.

But there are some things I did like, for instance, Samantha deciding to go it alone at the end of the film and Carrie and Big opting for the city hall wedding instead of the ridiculous side show. Two good social commentaries in my opinion.

Hey, I wasn’t expecting advance feministic social discourse here, I was hoping for a couple hours of semi-frivolous entertainment with a coupe of really keen insights. In short, I went in wanting to like the movie-which I did-to a certain extent.

Overall though, the move didn’t have a lot of good things to say about women. I’m willing to allow that in a half-hour format, maybe the show worked better that way because I often thought it had some terrific insight on the gal-clan. So maybe the stretch into cinematic format doesn’t translate. Or maybe I’m just kvetching. Or maybe I really didn’t think the film was all I thought it could have been. Either way, I just didn’t like what it had to say.

But then, since no one is really saying anything much about women in the movies anyway, does it really matter?

