I recently discovered the “stats” function on my blog and find myself becoming rather obsessive about them. I’m a math person, so I’m interested in what numbers have to say, particularly when one entry gets more play than another. I didn’t used to care, I just threw my nonsense out into the ether and if there was a comment or two, then goodie for me. But the new thing that has really got me going is the field where you can see what search terms have led people to your blog.

Honestly, I’m not sure how I feel about some of them. In some cases, I’m not sure how the hell the two, the search phrase and my blog, are connected. But others are a freakin hoot. Here’s some examples of just yesterday:

“spanish word for break dancing”

“having sex outside”

“taking fox pee smell off my dog”

“taking fox pee snell off my child”

“how to quietly get rid of a coworker”

“how to field dress a deer”

“what’s the Robert Plant lyric about….” (it cut off and I really wish I knew what the rest of it was!)

“recipe for sweatmeat pie” (what the hell is that? Haggis?)

So for any of you that submitted the previous mentioned searches, welcome to my blog! Hope I provided thoughtful and insightful answers to life’s persistent questions. For the person looking for the sheep gut boiled delicacy, here you go:

HAGGIS 

1 sheep’s stomach bag
1 sheep’s pluck – liver, lungs and heart
3 onions
250g beef Suet
150g oatmeal
salt and black pepper
a pinch of cayenne
150mls of stock/gravy  

Haggis Cooking Directions:

1. Clean the stomach bag thoroughly and soak overnight. In the morning turn it inside out.

2. Wash the pluck and boil for 1.5 hours, ensuring the windpipe hangs over the pot allowing drainage of the impurities.

3. Mince the heart and lungs and grate half the liver.

4. Chop up the onions and suet.

5. Warm the oatmeal in the oven.

6. Mix all the above together and season with the salt and pepper. Then add the cayenne.

7. Pour over enough of the pluck boiled water to make the mixture watery.

8. Fill the bag with the mixture until it’s half full.

9. Press out the air and sew the bag up.

10. Boil for 3 hours (you may need to prick the bag with a wee needle if it looks like blowing up!) without the lid on.

11. Serve with neeps and tatties.

Enjoy with the ones you love…

