Sailor Man has this really annoying habit of chastising me in the car when I don’t lay on the horn when someone in another car does something stupid like cut us off. His philosophy is that people need to be told when they are doing something wrong. This does not carry over into his personal life though.

As when Sailor Man left his job this week. Finally. After almost two years of working for the Ego-Maniacal-Bastard, and his boss, I-Who-Could-Give-A-Damn, he finally decided it best that he leave his job before I have the opportunity to catch one of those morons walking across the street while I’m behind the wheel.

To his credit, he was nice about it. He acknowledged, somewhat, the real purpose behind his decision to leave, but he also cited other reasons which really were only icing on the proverbial cake. He managed to shake hands, part on good terms, and not burn any bridges.

And I’ve been mad at him for it. Truly. I wanted comeuppance, revenge, flesh on a plate, and he just walked away. We picked up and moved half way across the country from a place we really loved on the premise that his place of business was a sane, rational, good place to work. That it has turned out to be the absolute opposite, makes me bitter. Bitter to the core.

And yet he kept the relationship intact. I know, I know, it was the right thing to do, but I can’t ignore that part of me that says if I had my drothers, I would not only have burned the bridge, I would also have nuked the ever-living-hell out of the other side. This being the dominant and concious part me speaking here.

I’m often amazed at how much nicer a human being Sailor man is in comparison to myself. He can forgive and forget and he can turn the other cheek, me not so much. Sailor Man calls it my Irish Alzheimers, where I forget everything but the grudge…and this is pretty much dead on.

He is too forgiving to a fault, I’m too unforgiving. It’s good we are together because I think if I had ended up with someone who possessed my temperment total chaos would reign. I have an utterly evil tongue and it is only restrained by a very weak chain. So when I see yet another Erie example of nepotism resulting in the most incompetent people retaining a job while good, honest, hard working people get driven out by the sheer frustration of it all, I want hell unleashed.

Talk about being born to a wrong era. I want to go back to the old days of Viking domination and the Old Gods. Where arguments are settled by the All Thing or at least, a hefty blow of a battle axe, whichever is more convenient. I’d have made one hell of a Valkyrie.

So Sailor Man is off to his next adventure on another boat to another sea. I remain behind to finish school until we decide where to go next. The future is uncertain. That is, of course, unless EMB and IWCGAD happen across my path.

