As a feminist, it often surprises me how little I care for other women. No, really, they piss me off to no end. In fact, my best friend and I really only became friends out of solidarity for hating other women.

Mostly this is because women serve to be their own worst enemies. As I have said before, the problem isn’t with men (entirely), it’s with us and the ridiculous things we do that set ourselves back as a species.

Here’s some examples set forth by my female comrades yesterday that I am taking issue with:

A girl on campus yesterday was walking around wearing pink micro-sweat-shorts with the word “Juicy” written across her keister. Upon walking past some young men, the men started making comments. I was there, nothing offensive, but this girl chose to become incredibly indignant and threw back some fairly nasty words at the men. A bit undeserved, I think.

See here, sister: If you are going to wear clothing that has words blazing accross your ass, then be prepared for commentary. You planned the party and issued the invitation, so deal with the consequences.

Later in the day: 

Having a whiskey with Sailor Man at the bar and watched as a young man offered to buy a girl a drink. She was dressed to the hilt, sitting with another girl at a bar mostly frequented by men. Upon his offer, she snorted at him, said she had a boyfriend and promptly turned her back on him.

WTF? Whatever happened to manners? Would saying “No, thank you” have killed you? Was the harmless brush off of “thanks, but I have a boyfriend” too difficult to manage? I appreciate that it is not an easy thing to buy someone a drink, but dearheart, being a total bitch in the face of compliment, is certainly uncalled for.

Buying drinks can be complex social behavior. It can imply an agreement of sorts or it can not. I assume a guy buying me a drink is certainly doing so with the intent of the drink evolving into something else. So I always inform said man that I am married. Full disclosure in negotiations. If they still want to buy the drink and be social, then hey, who am I to complain? Free drink.

I was trapped in airport hell two months ago and two gentlemen saved me from a crush of fat, red-neck, sweating goons harassing me at the bar. Although I was incredibly grateful, I did inform them I was married and they still extended the offer. Turned out that they were marines who had served multiple tours in Iraq and getting ready to deploy again. They bought me drinks, I bought them drinks, we talked and laughed for a few hours and it was all terribly civilized. My kind of way to spend a day, good drinks, good company, good conversation.

Aside from the rise of being unjustifiably rude, women are denying themselves simple joys. Someone though you were cute enough to try to get to know you better. Someone commented on an outfit you easily wore for provocation. Why has this become a bad thing? I always accept compliments from men on my appearance if it’s sincere and not wierd and I almost always accept drinks from men providing the situation is safe and the guy doesn’t creep me out. You never know who’ll you’ll meet and what you’ll learn.

And don’t give me that crap that the invite is only based on looks. That doesn’t justify rudeness. And who cares if it is? Maybe that’s the introduction, but that doesn’t mean you can’t hit ’em with your smarts.

Channeling sexual power for the greater good is a very modern feminist ideal. But with that power comes responsibility. The responsibility for remaining a civilized human being. You want to wield that power, then by all means, please do so. So long as you understand what comes with it.

