Sailor Man and I are in the process of selling our house. After much work and toil on the abode, we decided that the house was much too big for two persons not starting a family (or in the case of this place, a small army), so on the market it went.

On one hand, I hate to sell because the house has such wonderful character: wood floors, lots of wood detail, original windows, plaster walls, glass doorknobs, plus it’s downtown and the streets have wonderful mature trees, which is a big thing with me. On the other hand, I have a bathroom and two bedrooms I hadn’t been in since we bought the house. Yeah, too big, time to downsize.

So we’re going through the annoying trials of leaving on a moment’s notice for showings, trying to keep it spotless (not easy when you have a 100+lb mastiff), and putting up with the ridiculous comments people make to the realtor when they come through: “great house, but I hate the glassware”.

I’ve owned and sold a lot of homes so I’m pretty immune to the remarks people make. I like most of the feedback I get, good or bad, and every once in a while, I’ll hear something useful to employ to help the house show better. However, if you’re viewing my home for potential purchase, do keep in mind that I still own the place.  So turning on the every single light and then not turning them off when you leave is rude. Opening every door and cabinet for inspection and then leaving them open- doubly rude. Moving objects around (for what purpose I can’t even imagine), you’re really starting to cross a line. And leaving post it notes stating your “likes” and “dislikes” and your “helpful hints”-are you freakin’ kidding me?!

My realtor and I were appalled when someone left a post-it in my living room asking “Why the hell did you chose this color?”.

The house is for sale. You buy it or you don’t. You have not been asked for a written critique. If it works for you, great, if it doesn’t, then it doesn’t. But until such time that you own the place, you are a guest, which means, mind your freakin’ manners and keep your mitts off my stuff.

And for your comments on my chosen paint scheme: if you don’t like it, then buy the damn place and paint it.

