I’m back at school and it’s kicking my ass. Between 40 hours of work, 6 hours of classes, and 10 hours of work outside of class every week, I still have to find time to clean house, shop, pay bills, do laundry, work out, take care of the dog, and, oh yeah, I have a husband somewhere in that mix as well. And I can expect about 2 more years of this. I’m trying to rationalize the short term pain for the long term gain, but when you’re awake at 3 am with Voltaire on the brain, those 2 years feel more like a sentence.

The larger perspective on this of course, comes on a day where, six years ago, over three thousand people lost their lives in a senseless act of violence.  Following “that day” has been six years of war where countless persons have lost their lives and will continue to do so.

So, as sleep deprived and time-crunched and completely overwhelmed as I feel, I’m going to keep in mind today that at least I have the opportunity to go school. I don’t have to study in secret for fear of offending the supposed tennets of a religion where I could lose my lfe. I have running water and electricity and I don’t have sectarian violence in my streets. I will drive to class and not worry about road side bombs or being accidentally shot by soldiers whom I assume mean well and wish only to protect.

I’m working towards a future I can safely assume will exist. My biggest problem last night was trying to find the time to perform a required 10 hours of volunteer service for a class between now and the end of October. Precious time I really don’t have. Considering everything else going on in the world, if that really is my biggest problem, I’ll consider myself lucky, shut my yap, and continue on with my homework.   

