I am an atheist.

Having grown up in a Catholic household with 13 years of Catholic education and over a thousand church attendances, to some, that statement is not so surprising. However, to discuss it with the world at large has become a bigger deal as of late.

It used to be, that when discussions with persons turned to religion and issues of faith, I would silently hold my views and sometimes even draw blood while biting my tongue. Of course, in the post 9/11 world, that has become increasingly difficult to do. While people are still taken aback when I announce my disbelief in god, they seem to be more taken aback by the fact that I don’t consider them blithering idiots for believing in a higher power.

flying_spaghetti_monsterAnd seriously, I don’t. Life is tough and whatever gets you through the mortal coil that doesn’t infringe on the rights or well-being of others is fine by me. So go on, worship the Flying Spaghetti Monster, Vishnu, Allah, Yaweh, or man hole covers, I really don’t give a rat’s ass so long as you leave me out of it.

Oh, and for the record, being an atheist doesn’t equal me not having values, morals, disobeying the the rule of law, and oppressing others. It just means I don’t answer to the almighty traffic cop in the sky. It just means at the end of the day, I answer to myself. I can do right by the world simply because I feel like it and I think it’s the right thing to do.

