I’ve been here in Erie for about 10 months now and I haven’t really quite figured this place out.  I shouldn’t be too surprised since most people I have met really haven’t figured this place out either.  Maybe a doctorate in behaviour psychology would help…not like I’m suggesting this place ought to be studied and not lived in mind you….

This place feels very compartmentalized. No distinct downtown, lots of plazas, you have to drive freakin’ everywhere, and generally accepted traffic rules don’t seem to apply.

I have to specifically request that fries not be put on my salads or in my sandwiches.

I have to go to 4 different stores for wine, cases of beer, six-packs of beer and mixers.

The DMV doesn’t do vehicle registration and I have to go to some NGO for the service, I mean, really, WTF?

And what’s the deal with everyone belonging to some social club instead of a regular bar? The Maennechor Club, the Sunflower Club, Yacht Club, The Commodore Perry Yacht Club, the Women’s Club, Sacred Heart Ushers Club, the Polish Sharpshooters (don’t worry, I’m not going there), and so on and so forth.

Don’t get me started on pepperoni balls or ox roast whatever the hell either may be.

These and other mysteries are just some of things I will attempt to explore.

